Emi Martinez Hits Back At Former Teammate Over Penalty Claims

Emi Martinez Hits Back At Former Teammate Over Penalty Claims

Arsenal shared lost to Aston Villa yesterday but Emi Martinez almost handed his former side a penalty when he was seen pulling down Alexander Lacazette

Arsenal’s game against Aston Villa ended in tears for Gunners with Alexander Lacazette afterwards airing his frustrations over a wrong decision by the referee.

Martinez was caught on camera during the 57th minute pulling Lacazette down in the 18-yard box while all were awaiting a cross to be swung in.

In response to the action, the referee seemed to have taken the wrong stand as he opted to penalize Alexander Lacazette instead of handing him a penalty.

A video pooped up on twitter showing the incident which took place before the wrong decision and the French striker quickly responded, “Another One” pointing to a decision that could have been other way round.

In reaction to that, the Argentine goalkeeper chose to have the last say as he dished out his own response, claiming his former pal pushed him first.

Meanwhile, former referee; Peter Walton believes the VAR was right for not overturning the decision in favor of Arsenal.

Speaking to BTSport, Peter said; “First of all, VAR did look at it because they have a silent check on every incident and yes you can argue that the goalkeeper was fouled, you can argue that the goalkeeper was fouling Lacazette.

“The point is VAR is not there to get the correct decision, it is there to identify clear and obvious errors from the referee or if the referee has missed something.

Emi Martinez Hits Back At Former Teammate Over Penalty Claims 1

“What I would say is from a subjective point of view, has Lacazette used that opportunity to then lean on the goalkeeper? We all agree that within football there is a certain amount of physical contact allowed.

“We get that and we don’t want VAR looking at items of that nature where it’s such a subjective viewpoint.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply